a sharp turn left

a sharp  turn  leftThose who have read my LinkedIn profile know that for a period of time I acted as the CIO for a company in the communication business. I missed out on getting the job fulltime.

As I’m curious I wanted to know why and what was necessary to be successful in the future. A number of frank discussions followed, notably one with the hiring manager and one with the successful applicant (my new boss). That brought some significant details to light:

  • as an “internal” applicant staying effectively in the same department / working environment I was seen through the lens of what I’ve done this far. In other words the hiring people didn’t imagine I could bring the expected change to life.
  • the new CIO didn’t have the “ballast” of knowing “how” and “why” things are done a certain way. He was free to “sell” a “greener” place.
  • I still was thinking in incremental change and not a leap.

So I set myself some time to learn and to re-evaluate my goals and ambitions.

  • Did I still want to become CIO? And if so, what was I prepared to do in getting there?
  • Did I still want to work for the same company or was it time to move on and put myself deliberately in the “outsider” position?
  • Maybe there are other opportunities within the same company to broaden my knowledge and expertise?

The last one got me thinking and this is still an open question.

  • What is my expertise?
  • What is it others value me for?

I’m setting out to uncover this. And I’m prepared to listen with the intent to understand.

You are welcome to comment either on the question or your experience in doing something similar.

One comment on “a sharp turn left

  1. Doug says:

    Unfortunately yours is an all too common (painful) story these days. I think this Company badly suffers from the inverted “grass is greener over there” syndrome and a serious lack of an equatable & visible recruitment process. They also do not measure the immediate and downstream damage impacts resulting from the process & decisions actually used. There is also clear evidence of “Corporate memory failure”, i.e. what had been previously achieved prior to joining this Company appears to be immediately down-sized and dis-respected once you are in post, and therefore the potential for growth through opportunity is effectively buried, even as in your case, you have deftly and professionally carried out the interim role – seeking the answers to the why / why nots? Any professional recruitment process should be calibrated with blind test candidates going through the selection process. I have seen absolutely no evidence of such, in fact I have seen huge evidence of various types of bias in the processes used here. As professionals, we always strive to improve our respective Companies’ performance, through resolutely turning around any negative energy into improving our own / teams’ performance. No matter how silly the current environment may appear to be, you will be all the stronger a leader for it, and that is extremely obvious to many other professionals. (Happy to off-line, if appropriate).

What's your opinion?

