Tension of Opposites

(1)

It is late Saturday afternoon. The Sun is still shining brightly and warm. I collect a few strawberries for later and our 2 Labradoodles play on the lawn. My wife is gone to her study and prepares for her training course. I’m picking up a book that I haven’t read for a couple of years, “Tuesdays with Morrie” , sit down in my rocking chair and begin reading.

Nougat, our little dog is jumping on my lap and makes herself comfortable. Vanilla, her mother sits next to me and lets herself get cuddled. Time passes and I think of a Glenmorangie that sits in the cupboard just meters away. The tale of Morrie Schwartz and Mitch Albom is fascinating me again. I didn’t think I could forget that much. Just when I think of getting myself a dram of whisky I reach the part of the tension of opposites.

“Life is a series of pulls back and forth. You want to do one thing, but you are bound to do something else. Something hurts you, yet you know it shouldn’t. You take certain things for granted, even when you know you should never take anything for granted.”

“A tension of opposites, like a pull on a rubber band. And most of us live somewhere in the middle.”

(2)

My story compared to the book is pathetic – still I like to share it.

I’m now reading for about an hour, my legs have fallen asleep as has Nougat on my lap. Still I dare not to move much. Vanilla is enjoying the cuddling which gets only interrupted by the brief turning of pages. I’m sure my wife Susani will only be another hour at the most. Then the dogs will wake up and greet her as if she’s been away for days. So I put my graving for a dram aside and ignore my legs and continue reading.

“So which side wins”, I ask?

He smiles at me, the crinkled eyes, the crooked teeth.

“Love wins. Love always wins.”

I’m an optimist, I believe in the good of people, and I believe in Morrie.

(3)

Is this reality? Is this how most of us behave day in day out? We have busy lives. We have things to do. There are expectations, from the boss, from the partner, from the kids, from the people reporting to you, from contractors, from friends and more. Satisfying all those expectations can tear at you.

Living in the middle neither here nor there doesn’t work for me. I don’t want multi task. I want to do one thing at a time. Doing what I love and love what I’m doing is key. People always have priority before material things.

Maybe dogs are people, too.

One comment on “Tension of Opposites

  1. […] finished “Tuesdays with Morrie” today after I left it halfway last Saturday. “Remember what I said about finding a meaningful […]

What's your opinion?

